Some people can’t do anything unless there are rules and a label on it. And others, like myself, feel that if, say, I’m trying to be a vegetarian but I fall off the wagon, I’m not a failed vegetarian, I’m a Flexitarian in good standing. If you are one of those people and it gives you peace, see if any of these eating categories is a better fit for you:
P.S. – For inquiring minds, I’m still a Vegetarian – for 3 weeks now – Jug.
Vegan: A person who doesn’t eat meat, poultry, fish, seafood, eggs, or dairy. They usually avoid honey and foods processed with animal products like gelatin, lanolin. Often, vegans avoid wearing animal products like leather, silk, down feathers, and wool. Vegans are sometimes called “strict vegetarians.”
Vegetarian: A person who doesn’t eat meat, poultry, or fish, but does eat dairy products and/or eggs.
Pescatarian: A person who doesn’t eat meat or poultry, but does eat fish; they may or may not eat dairy products and/or eggs.
Pollotarian: A person who doesn’t eat red meat or fish, but does eat chicken; they may or may not eat dairy products and/or eggs.
Lacto-ovo Vegetarian: Someone who eats eggs and milk products, but is otherwise a vegan.
Lacto Vegetarian: Someone who eats milk products, but not eggs, and is otherwise a vegan.
Beegan: A vegan who eats honey.
Dietary vegan: Someone whose diet is vegan, but who doesn’t avoid all non-food animal products, like for clothing and toiletries.
Flexitarian: Someone who primarily eats vegetarian food, but allows for exceptions occasionally.
Omnivore: Someone who eats both plants and animals.
Carnivore: Someone who consumes primarily animal material
Herbivore: An organism who has adapted to eating plant-based foods, not the same as vegetarian.
Lessetarian: A person who tries to reduce their consumption of animal products, but doesn’t necessarily eliminate them.